Academic Catalog

Buchtel College of Arts & Sciences

Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences is the largest and oldest degree-granting college at The University of Akron.

The College has four administrative divisions: Fine Arts, Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences.

The Fine Arts Division includes the Myers School of Art, School of Dance, Theatre, and Arts Administration, and School of Music. The Arts Division places a premium on learning by doing. Students study side-by-side with talented and caring faculty members who are committed to helping them turn their aspirations into accomplishments.

The Humanities Division includes the departments of English, Modern Languages, and Philosophy. In these disciplines students learn about the evolution of diverse civilizations, their languages, literatures, cultures, and their contributions to our accumulated wisdom.

The Natural Sciences Division includes the departments of Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geosciences, Mathematics, Physics, and Statistics. Students explore physical and biological processes and learn to use mathematics, the language of science. Student research in the division ranges from the characterization of molecules to mapping the expanse of the universe to mathematical modeling of real processes. Students learn how our physical world works and use this knowledge to create the technologies of the future.

The Social Sciences Division includes the School of Communication, the departments of Anthropology, Child and Family Development, Criminal Justice Studies, History, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Urban Studies, and Sociology. In these disciplines students observe individuals, closely knit organizations, whole cultures developing over the centuries (sometimes at peace and sometimes at war), the economic and geographical realities affecting these populations, and the ways societies organize themselves for harmony, protection, and prosperity.

College Website